Q. When will you start offering renewal classes?
A. The first set of licenses will not expire until early 2019. SAFE is currently holding regular classes for the 3 hour renewal class - check our schedule!
Q. Can I take the 3 hour renewal class even though my initial certification doesn't expire until in the future? Does the renewal class expire and am I taking it too early?
A. Yes, you can take the renewal class anytime. Currently, there is no expiration for the renewal class as far as the state is concerned. We recommend taking this class before the rush! Additionally, we understand you will not be able to apply for your renewal until 5 months before the expiration date of your license.
Q. How much training is needed?
A. Illinois law requires people renewing to attend a 3 hour Renewal course which consists of two hours of classroom and 1 hour on the range.
Q. Will you offer private renewal classes?
A. Yes we will. Private class minimums will be 15 students or $750 for the group rate. More than 15 students is an additional $50 per person. Anything less, we can't pay the bills.
Q. How much is the State of Illinois renewal fee?
A. Illinois fees will remain $150 for the 5 year renewal ($153 using a credit card)
Q. How long do I have to wait to get the renewal application processed?
A. 90 to 120 days, same as the original license application process.
Q. What if my license expires before I the state can process my renewal application?
A. According to the law, (430 ILCS 66/70), subsection C: A license is invalid upon expiration of the license, unless the licensee has submitted an application to renew the license, and the applicant is otherwise eligible to possess a license under this Act.
Q. What will SAFE charge for the classes?
A. The class fee is $50 per person.
Q. Do you charge any Range fees?
A. Absolutely not. Please note, we would suggest you comparison shop when it comes to your renewal class. Be sure there are no hidden fees!
SAFE Gun Permits will be hosting classes to renew your Illinois Conceal Carry License. The Illinois Conceal Carry License is valid for a period of five (5) years. It must be renewed every 5 year to remain current. Here is a list of FAQ about the process.
Renewing your Illinois Conceal Carry License