Frequently Asked Questions:
Q: Will I need a FOID (Firearm Owners Identification Card) to take the class? How about to apply for the license?
A: You do not need a FOID card to take the class. You will however need one to apply for the license. You may apply for a FOID and your conceal
carry license at the same time online.
Q: Does the training I receive expire? How long do I have to apply for my license after taking your class?
A: Currently there is no expiration on the training certificate you receive. You could apply for your conceal carry license any time after you take the
course, and it must be done online. We will provide you with all the instructions.
Q: Do I need a firearm for the class? Do I need a holster? What if I don't have a gun or a holster?
A: You do need to qualify, so yes, you will need a firearm. If you do not have a firearm, we can rent you ours for a small $10 fee. Rental includes
use of the firearm, ammunition, eye and ear protection. We have plenty of holsters we can allow any of our students use for no cost.
Q: Where is the gun range?
A: We utilize private property in the Elburn, Illinois or any of the local ranges. We will qualify on Sunday of whatever weekend we have a class.
Q: Is there a test to complete the course?
A: Nope! You only must attend the required amount of training and pass the range qualification course (don't worry its easy).
Q: What exactly does the range qualification consist of?
A: According to regulatory guidelines, students must score a 70% on a B27 silhouette target (48" x 24" size). Students must hit the black portion
(silhouette) of the target while shooting 10 rounds at 5 yards, another 10 rounds at 7 yards, and a final 10 rounds at 10 yards. So 21 of our 30
rounds must hit the black portion of the target to successfully pass. Worried? Don't be.
Q: Do you offer private classes?
A: Of course! The minimum number of students we require is generally dependent on the location we would travel to.
Q: How do I become a Host and what is generally required?
A: Call us and let us know so we can schedule a weekend for your class. The host will provide an area to have the class with electricity. It could be
a family living room, garage, basement, place of employment, business, etc. We encourage you to provide light breakfast rolls and coffee, light
snacks and water and some type of lunch for your private party however lunch isn’t mandatory. Make it a party atmosphere. We want it to be
a fun learning environment. We will need some space to setup a projector and screen if an HDMI television isn’t available plus a small area to
keep a few firearms out for display and to do paperwork.
Q: Do you have any other (hidden) fees I need to know about?
Q: What kind of experience do you have teaching this class and firearms in general?
A: Craig has previous law enforcement training; Craig and Kevin are lifelong shooters and NRA Certified Instructors. We are also certified in
teaching a number of disciplines such as NRA Personal Protection in the Home, Outside the Home, NRA Appointed Range Safety Officers. Craig
is a NRA Chief Range Safety Officer. We are also certified and licensed to teach conceal carry through the states of Illinois and Utah.
Q: How much does the conceal carry license cost? How do I apply?
A: $150 through the State Police website. You may apply any time after you take the training class. We will provide instructions during the class.
Q: Do you include fingerprinting?
A: Fingerprinting for students is NOT mandatory, it is optional. We cannot fingerprint students for the Illinois Conceal Carry License as you must
be a licensed State Vendor. We generally do not recommend being fingerprinting for Illinois because it will add about $60-$65 to your cost and
the only real benefit to being fingerprinted is you supposedly will receive your license 30 days faster than normal (90 days versus 120 days
allowed). Generally people have been receiving their licenses within that 90 day window anyway. However, if students are interested in
fingerprints, we can refer you to a licensed state vendor for that extra service.
Q: How do I know you are "qualified" instructors?
A: Our credentials are listed on the Illinois State Police website, along with a listing of currently revoked instructors! Visit
Q: Will any other state recognize my Illinois Conceal Carry license?
A: Yes! Just with your Illinois Concealed Carry license, you may legally carry is these states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Illinois,
Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma,
South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Wisconsin.
Q: What is this Utah Conceal Carry Permit thing you offer?
A: Any student taking our 16 hour course is eligible for the Utah non-resident concealed carry permit which will allow you to legally carry in 8
additional states: Washington, Wyoming, North Dakota, Louisiana, Georgia, West Virginia, Virginia, Delaware. If interested, this will require you
to stay about an extra hour on Saturday while we go through the Utah curriculum. We will also fingerprint you, photograph you and help you
complete your application. All for an additional $50 course fee. You will also be required to pay a $47 state processing fee via credit card or
check on the day of class.
Want to know more or schedule a private class? Call Kevin at 630-728-1728 or Craig at 630-776-4412.
Craig and Kevin Celia
We hold privately ran classes for groups of people throughout the state. We come to you with all our equipment.
16 Hour Course: $150 plus individual range fees.
All participants must go through all 16 hours of class time.
Utah Add On: $50
Host should have a place to hold the classes. This could be a private garage, basement, business, shop. Anywhere where people can be comfortable and where electricity is present. Usually chairs and some space along with refreshments is what is needed when hosting.
Class dates/times will be agreed upon by SAFE and the host or hostess. The classes are generally on weekends.
Students do not need a FOID card to take the class but will need one when applying for their license. Currently training certificates do not expire. Feel free to contact Kevin or Craig to inquire further! Kevin can be reached at 630.788.1728, Craig can be reached at 630.776.4412, or complete the online form on this page.
Private Class Information
HOST A CLASS INQUIRY
Hosting a Private Class