Q: Will I need a FOID (Firearm Owners Identification Card) to take the class? How about to apply for the license?
A: You do not need a FOID card to take the class. You will however need one to apply for the license. To apply for a FOID, click here or
visit: https://ispfsb.com/Public/Login.aspx. To apply for the license, you will create a free account on the Illinois state police website
(Click Here) or visit: https://ispfsb.com/Reg/signup.aspx
Q: If I only need 8 hours of training, but wish to attend all 16 hours will you charge me for 16 hours or 8 hours?
A: We only charge for how many hours you need. If you provide proof of previous training or military experience (DD-214), you can still sit in
on the entire 16 hours but we will only charge you for the amount of hours needed. In fact, we recommend it but ultimately that is your
decision to make.
Q: Does the training I receive expire? How long do I have to apply for my license after taking your class?
A: Currently there is no expiration on the training certificate you receive. You could apply for your conceal carry license any time after you
take the course.
Q: What exactly does the range qualification consist of?
A: According to regulatory guidelines, students must score a 70% on a B27 silhouette target (48" x 24" size). Students must hit the black
portion (silhouette) of the target while shooting 10 rounds at 5 yards, another 10 rounds at 7 yards, and a final 10 rounds at 10 yards. So
21 of our 30 rounds must hit the black portion of the target to successfully pass. Worried? Don't be. We will work with you. Click here
for a photo of our students shooting the paper target.
Q: Will any other state recognize my Illinois Conceal Carry license?
A: Yes! Just with your Illinois Concealed Carry license, you may legally carry is these states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho,
Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio,
Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Wisconsin.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Must an applicant submit fingerprints for the Illinois License?
A: No. A completed application does not require fingerprints. Fingerprints are optional and has to be performed by a licensed livescan
vendor and will cost you an extra $60-$65. The only benefit of being fingerprinted is the State Police will supposedly issue your license
30 days faster due to an expedited background check being conducted. 90 days versus 120 days. Lately, applicants have been receiving
their licenses within the 90 day period anyway, without being fingerprinting. We simply do not recommend it. If you choose to be
fingerprinted, click here for a listing of companies that will perform that service.
Q: How long are the classes?
A: It depends on your prior experience. Per Statute, If you are an active or honorably discharged military veteran, you only need 8 hours of
training. If you have no previous firearm related experience, most likely you need the full 16 hours. Click here to see the Illinois State
Police rules, or visit: https://www.ispfsb.com/Public/Documents/CCWPriorTrainingCredit.pdf
Below are some of the most common questions we are asked. If you do not find an answer you need, please contact us!
Q: What is this Utah Conceal Carry Permit thing you offer?
A: Any student taking our 16 hour course is eligible for the Utah non-resident concealed carry permit which will allow you to legally carry in
these 8 additional states: Washington, Wyoming, North Dakota, Louisiana, Georgia, West Virginia, Virginia, Delaware. If interested, this
will require you to stay about an extra hour on Saturday while we go through the Utah curriculum. We will also fingerprint you,
photograph you and help you complete your application. All for an additional $50 course fee. You will also be required to pay a
$47 state processing fee via credit card or check on the day of class.
Q: How much does the conceal carry license cost? How do I apply and how long will it take to get the license?
A: State of Illinois processing is $150 through the State Police website and will usually take 90-120 days to receive. You may apply anytime
after you take the training class. We will provide you with instructions how to apply!
Q: Do you offer private classes? What is the minimum number of students for a private class?
A: Of course! The minimum number of students we require is 6. If the host recruits at least 8 paid students, we will give one free class
(usually the host for hosting the class). Want to know more? Click here!
Q: Do I need a firearm for the class? Do I need a holster? What if I don't have a gun or a holster?
A: You do need to pass the range qualification, so yes you will need a firearm. If you do not have a firearm, we can rent you ours for a
small $10 fee. This fee includes use of the firearm, holster, ammunition, eye and ear protection. We have plenty of holsters we can
allow any of our students use for no cost.
Q: Is there a test to complete the course?
A: Nope! You only must attend the required amount of training and pass the range qualification course (don't worry it's easy).
Q: Do you have any other (hidden) fees I need to know about?
A: Nope! Not even "range fees" other companies charge.
Q: Where is the gun range?
A: We utilize an outdoor private property range in the Elburn and in the Morris, Illinois area. We will qualify on Sunday of whatever weekend
we have a class.
Q: How do I know you are "qualified" instructors?
A: It's just plain smart to do your homework before taking a course from anyone! The majority of Instructors are honest people but
there have been known to teach without proper credentials and even have been criminally charged for doing so. Additionally, if their
course is not up-to-par, their credentials are taken away and so is your license. Our credentials are listed on the Illinois State Police
website. Also listed are instructors who have had their credentials revoked. Click Here for the link!